Adventures with a Cyclone

16 Mar

I got a call on the way back home on Friday…

” Hi Dad where are you ? “

” Ill be home in about 40 minutes …how are you ?”

” Cyclone Lucy is coming …we’ve just been looking at the forecast”

There was genuine excitement in his voice . When I got home Che and Luka were both really excited. Che took me through the details and showed me a book which gave useful information and the difference between hurricanes , cyclones etc( no I don’t remember).

When we went out to feed the Calves Luka kept saying ” Oh Lucys coming ” as though it were an expected guest …which it was..should we have been concerned ? I dont know , but they were interested and enthralled.

The wind got up the first evening and there was some rain , though not as much as I expected. But more than the Cat wanted.

Image

I hardly slept , the wind sounded awful. My mind was awake. I had no idea what to expect from a cyclone, would it take roof tiles off ? Would my insurance replace the whole roof if that did happen ( please ) , did I leave things outside I shouldn’t have ( of course ). What was that important thing I was going to do ( still cant remember ) did I pay the phone bill ( not sure …) then it was morning . More wind , little rain and only seconds after the coffee was made ( thanks Helen) …the power went off !

And kept going off and on all day. Tedious at times , humorous at others.

The rain we had had was enough to create mud and the younger children enjoyed rolling around in that until they went in for a bath.

 

Image

We thought the Calves needed some dry time and brought them into the stables for the evening.
Then as the wind got back up and the rain never really materialised a moment of serious challenge …Che wanted to play Monopoly…which we did …and of course I lost …20140315_163324….because nothing says adventures with a cyclone that never really showed like a board game.

Leave a Reply

